we’re No. 1!!!

The Michigan State Sports Journalism family congratulates our Association for Women in Sports Media chapter – they’ve just been named the national organization’s 2016 student chapter of the year!!

This is the first win for the AWSM @ Michigan State chapter, and they emerged victorious in the strongest and toughest chapter of the year contest yet.

Here is the release from the national AWSM!

The chapter created an optional special video to go with their formal application, to highlight all the amazing members and their great journey with AWSM and MSU throughout the year. Credit goes to to Jazzy Teen for a great video!

We congratulate AWSM @ Michigan State president Hanna Sprague, and officers Kellie Van Maele, Laurel Young and Jazzy. And we look forward to celebrating your accomplishment with a pizza party at the first meeting back after Spring Break.

The chapter will be invited to come to the national AWSM convention in July, and will be honored in a ceremony. We can’t wait to have the award on display in the journalism department!!!!

Special thanks to professional mentor Karen Wall, and faculty advisors LA Dickerson and Joanne Gerstner.

We are so proud. You are truly AWSM!



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s